In this section:

Ministerial changes at MHCLG 26/07/2019

Following the election of Boris Johnson as Conservative Party Leader and Prime Minister, there have been significant changes at ministerial level at the Ministry of Housing, Communities & Local Government (MHCLG).


Robert Jenrick, MP for Newark in Nottinghamshire, replaces James Brokenshire as Secretary of State at MHCLG.


Esther McVey, MP for Tatton in Cheshire and former Secretary of State at DWP has been brought back into government and appointed as Minister of State at MHCLG to replace current Housing Minister Kit Malthouse who moves on to be Policing Minister.


Esther McVey becomes the 6th person to hold the post of Housing Minister in the period since the 2015 General Election:


  • Brandon Lewis (Jul 2014 - Jul 2016)
  • Gavin Barwell (Jul 2016 - Jun 2017)
  • Alok Sharma (Jun 2017 - Jan 2018)
  • Dominic Raab (Jan 2018 - Jul 2018)
  • Kit Malthouse (Jul 2018 - Jul 2019)
  • Esther McVey (Jul 2019 - ?)


The constant revolving door of ministers at MHCLG and the replacement of James Brokenshire and Kit Malthouse will be seen by many in the sector as a potential step back for council housing given the significant policy measures introduced under their tenure under Theresa May's Government in support of council housing, including the lifting of the HRA borrowing cap, scrapping of the High Value Asset Levy and a new longer term social rent policy.


ARCH and the NFA (National Federation of Almos) will be writing a joint letter to the new Secretary of State and Minister of State congratulating them on their appointment and urging them to recommit to creating a new generation of council housing and we will be seeking an early meeting with Ministers. ARCH Chief Executive John Bibby is in any event meeting with officials in MHCLG on the 13 August.


There has been no change in Secretary of State at the Department for Work & Pensions with the current incumbent, Amber Rudd MP retained in post.

Like emailLink
ARCH Member Comments 4 people like this